Brinn Black: A Friend-Crush Letter

There are two things that you need to get from the following (just in case you don’t want to read the whole thing).  First, I have a major friend-crush on Brinn (and yes, I made that word up…it means that I want to be best friends with her, duh!).  Second, You really need to check this girl out – she really is that great.  Please read further to see that the second thing really should have been first.

Dear Brinn,

You are an absolute rock star and I can’t wait to see where you go.  When I saw that you were opening for Love and Theft down in Lynchburg, I knew that I needed to check you out (because I do my research when I’m traveling for concerts).  I was not disappointed and I was excited to see you perform.  And, once again, I was not disappointed.  You seem exactly like the type of girl that I would want to hang out with and be friends with and that I could travel with and have fun with – I mean, I clearly enjoyed the show and had a great time.  Keep rocking it out and let me know when that new music comes out so that I can promote the hell out of it.  Also, let me know if you’re up my way in upstate/central NY or even northern PA and I’ll be there to sing along and rock out again!

For those of you that would like to check her out, go here and you can download her Get Mad EP for free.  But you really should give her a few bucks – I didn’t at first, but donated at the show after seeing her perform because it was totally worth it.  How often do you get the chance to really have an impact on an artist at the beginning of their careers?  Make a good choice and start promoting her.

So, the show.  First of all, the girl has an amazing voice.  It is powerful and pure and fun.  It makes you want to sing along and dance with her.  Second of all, the girl came out and rocked out some of the biggest, best heels I have seen in a while.  I wore flats, but I would definitely love to have her heels.  Then, she rocked out – having fun with the audience and fun with her guitar player, Goose.  And we had a great time because of that.  She did not trip over any cords, although she came close – and I probably would have too.  She sang some of the songs that I love off her EP and she also sang the heck out of Adele “Rolling in the Deep.”  I was impressed and can’t wait to see where she goes because she has more potential than anyone I’ve seen in a while.  She sang new songs that I loved and that I want to get on my iPod and be able to run to and share with all my friends. The only downside to the show was that she wasn’t on for that long.

The long and the short of it is that Brinn Black is fantastic and she is going places.  If you get a chance to see her live, do it now or you will kick yourself later knowing that you could have seen her and had a conversation with her and gotten to know her before the fame really hits.  I went over and chatted with her very briefly, but she was super sweet and like I said, I have a major friend-crush on her.  If I could have afforded to stay another day or didn’t have a mountain of work waiting for me to do once I got home, I might have stayed and hung out.  If you don’t have the chance to see her live, get her music and rock out to it!

Thanks again for a great night, girl!  You were fantastic and I can’t wait to see you again!

Love,

Elise

P.S. Check back tomorrow and Thursday for more on my trip and why Brinn Black helped make the 15+ hours totally worth it!

P.S. I will post pictures this weekend after I have some time to hopefully edit them because I haven’t had time yet…but Brinn is also gorgeous (I don’t think I mentioned that yet) and just seems very real and fun.

P.P.S If you didn’t already know…I’m a rambler, it’s just who I am.

Posted on 19 February 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Brinn is a wonderful person! We were great friends when we were in elementary school until moving seperated us! Love that you enjoy her music and personality and want the best for her as I do. Thank you for spreading the word so she can reach far and wide and continue spreading love and entertainment into others.

    • I am glad that I could write something and only hope that it reaches more people and does help her because she was great and I’m so happy that I got to see her and become a fan!

  1. Pingback: Love and Theft: A Longing Letter « Excitment and Extraction from Elise

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

